We have now been working within the Curriculum for Excellence framework for a number of years. Over that time the school has evolved to meet the demands of the new curriculum. As a school we are keen to ensure that pupils experience progression and depth in the curriculum, we want pupils to build on the learning they are encountering and to apply the learning to a variety of situations. All pupils are entitled to a broad, general education, meaning that pupils need to experience all the outcomes at the different levels. Pupils should experience learning which is challenging but also FUN! Pupils are also entitled to personal support; this takes the form of having opportunities to talk with an adult about their learning and, together, helping pupils to plan their next learning steps. Pupils are treated as individuals with their own unique needs.

Pupils are given the opportunity to direct their learning by asking key questions about the topics planned by the class teacher and this helps to direct the course of learning in the class. Parents will receive a termly newsletter which details the planned learning that will take place in your child’s class.

The aim of the curriculum is to ensure that pupils achieve the four capacities which are:

Responsible Citizen
Successful Learners
Effective Contributors
Confident Individuals.

These four capacities ensure that our children, the adults of the future, are equipped for an ever-evolving world. Look how far we have come in our own lifetime. (Just think back to when you were at school, a telephone was attached to the wall, tablets were pills your granny took, and records played music, blackberries in large quantities gave us belly ache, and only birds tweeted. Now we panic when our Blackberries crash and we cannot “tweet”!). Our children need to be ready to do jobs which currently may not exist. They require flexibility. We have to ensure that our pupils are “active” in their learning, this does not mean getting out of your chair, but being “active” thinkers, being encouraged to question facts, to enquire. Children need to understand WHY they are learning! Children need to learn to become skilled team players, to negotiate, to reason, and problem solve, as well as work effectively on their own. Above all we want to make learning challenging and FUN!! So that all pupils reach their potential.

The curriculum is organised ‘straight through’ – from nursery to 18 there are six levels through which your child will progress. Some pupils may complete these levels slightly later than others however. It is important that pupils experience depth and breadth in learning.

Six levels:
The pre-school years and P1
P2 to the end of P4
P5 to the end of P7
Third and Fourth
S1 to S3
Senior Phase
S4 to S6

The curriculum is organised into eight curriculum areas: Expressive Arts, Health and Wellbeing, Languages, Mathematics, Religious and Moral Education, Sciences, Social Studies, Technologies.
Information about how the curriculum is structured and curriculum planning can be found at:

Information about the outcomes a learner can expect to experience and achieve across literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing, as well as the eight curricular areas can be found at: